UnThreaded | Threaded | Whole Thread (70) | Ignore Thread Prev | Next
Author: ChilkatSally Big gold star, 5000 posts Old School Fool Add to my Favorite Fools Ignore this person (you won't see their posts anymore) Number: of 61260  
Subject: Re: bridging the gap Date: 2/8/2007 8:25 AM
Post New | Post Reply | Reply Later | Create Poll Report this Post | Recommend it!
Recommendations: 0
When I first retired, I had Vanguard do a investing plan for me. It cost me 400.00 and was allocated across many asset classes. I studied it for a long time.

I took about 60% of the advice and then filled in the rest with my plan. I was determined to "do this myself". I kept about 6% for short term trading.

I plugged inVanguards suggestions into a yahoo portfolio and have watched it grow over the last seven years. I have only beaten it by a few percent every year. That does add up over the years.

when I become old and drifty, I will be happy as a clam to turn it over to vanguard to run.

Emerging Markets. Several years ago Bill Gross of Pimco was advising a move into emerging markets, he said he had put a HUGE percent of his personal IRA into EM. I don't remember the % but it was way overweighted to any normal weighting. So I put in 10% into Vanguards EM.

Over the following year I increased it to 20%. After about three years of up-trending , I became uncomfortable with the allocation and dropped it back to 10%.

Last summer I got a letter from Vanguard expressing worry about Emerging Market. It encouraged cutting back the allocation. it discussed "reversing to the mean", yada yada.

So, i cut it back to 4%, and bought some individual foreign stocks instead.

Vanguard EM is still going up, after last summers correction.

Post New | Post Reply | Reply Later | Create Poll Report this Post | Recommend it!
Print the post  
UnThreaded | Threaded | Whole Thread (70) | Ignore Thread Prev | Next

Announcements

Pencils of Promise - Back to School Drive