UnThreaded | Threaded | Whole Thread (21) | Ignore Thread Prev Thread | Next Thread
Author: JJJustdave Old School Fool Add to my Favorite Fools Ignore this person (you won't see their posts anymore) Number: of 76406  
Subject: Where should I put $1000 per month? Date: 6/24/2007 3:28 PM
Post New | Post Reply | Reply Later | Create Poll Report this Post | Recommend it!
Recommendations: 0
Finally paid off the mortgage after 15 years. Now I have about $1000 a month to invest for the next 10 years (I'm 57 tomorrow).

My car and truck are paid for, credit card (I only have one with a $13,500 limit) is paid up, and I have about $65,000 cash between 3 different 5% online savings accounts. Wife and I have %26k combined in (unmatched)401ks and $35k in IRA accounts (Fidelity & Franklin - doing OK). We definitely haven't saved enough.

I'm a middle manager at a company where I've worked for 25 years. I only make $67k per year (Central Florida), wife makes about $20k and that's not likely to change much. Our jobs are fairly secure.

I'm not adverse to a moderate amount of risk. Obviously, I have a long way to go to a comfortable retirement. I've been reading for a few months, but just can't decide how to get started. Any suggestions will be appreciated and considered carefully.

JJJustdave
Print the post Back To Top
Author: PKnudsen Big gold star, 5000 posts Old School Fool CAPS All Star Add to my Favorite Fools Ignore this person (you won't see their posts anymore) Number: 58007 of 76406
Subject: Re: Where should I put $1000 per month? Date: 6/24/2007 6:15 PM
Post New | Post Reply | Reply Later | Create Poll Report this Post | Recommend it!
Growth Stocks, of course. Or funds which invest in same.

Author: buzman Big red star, 1000 posts Old School Fool Add to my Favorite Fools Ignore this person (you won't see their posts anymore) Number: 58008 of 76406
Subject: Re: Where should I put $1000 per month? Date: 6/24/2007 7:02 PM