UnThreaded | Threaded | Whole Thread (12) | Ignore Thread Prev Thread | Next Thread
Author: hep1974 Add to my Favorite Fools Ignore this person (you won't see their posts anymore) Number: of 76237  
Subject: where to invest? Date: 12/31/2004 2:34 PM
Post New | Post Reply | Reply Later | Create Poll Report this Post | Recommend it!
Recommendations: 0
hello fools,

i've finally made the jump to the world of IRAs. i just opened an account for my wife and i at etrade. now that we have opened it, i know i have the daunting task of choosing the best index fund that has no-load, no fees and will provide the best balanced growth for the next 30-35 yrs. acoording to the etrade investing questionare, i ended up being placed in the 3rd highest catergory called "balanced growth" which essestially is basically is a balance of low and high-wisk funds. it breaks down my asset locations to:

large cap: 55%
small cap: 15%
international: 10%
fixed: 18%
cash: 2%

i'm very new to this...i want to "set it and forget it" and just watch it grow throughout the years. i realize i will accept some loss, but hope to end up on top. i do not plan to take anything out for at least 35yrs and when i do take it out, i may deplete most of it throughout the retirement years but also hope to provide some income if possible. am i asking too much?

ok, my question (finally)....i don't have much to start off right now ($150) where should i put my money? i was thinking of a s&p500 index fund, but other than that - have no clue where to put that $150 to good use. HELP!

-hep1974
Print the post Back To Top
Author: ziggy29 Big funky green star, 20000 posts Old School Fool Add to my Favorite Fools Ignore this person (you won't see their posts anymore) Number: 43800 of 76237
Subject: Re: where to invest? Date: 12/31/2004 2:49 PM
Post New | Post Reply | Reply Later | Create Poll Report this Post | Recommend it!