UnThreaded | Threaded | Whole Thread (6) | Ignore Thread Prev Thread | Next Thread
Author: anjhale Add to my Favorite Fools Ignore this person (you won't see their posts anymore) Number: of 76101  
Subject: Where to open IRA? Date: 4/10/2001 7:38 PM
Post New | Post Reply | Reply Later | Create Poll Report this Post | Recommend it!
Recommendations: 0
I am very new to investing and would like to open two IRA's (one for me one for hubby). We are definitely eligible. My mom says to buy direct from a company like Vanguard, but the fees seem high. What about sharebuilder.com or buyandhold.com IRA's?
Print the post Back To Top
Author: TheVlad Big red star, 1000 posts Old School Fool Add to my Favorite Fools Ignore this person (you won't see their posts anymore) Number: 29043 of 76101
Subject: Re: Where to open IRA? Date: 4/10/2001 9:25 PM
Post New | Post Reply | Reply Later | Create Poll Report this Post | Recommend it!
<<<My mom says to buy direct from a company like Vanguard, but the fees seem high. What about sharebuilder.com or buyandhold.com IRA's?>>>

Unless you are opening a Vanguard brokerage account, the fees will definitely be less if you invest in their mutual funds, especially index funds.

Sharebuilder.com and buyandhold.com are pseudo-drip companies where you invest based on the dollar amount. You will have to purchase stocks yourself. There are fee related to both stock purchase and inactivity fees if you don't have a regular investment plan.

If you are very new to investing, the best thing is to invest into a Vanguard index fund such as VFINX (tracks S&P 500), for example, and then use TMF resource to educate yourself more about investing.

Good luck!

Vlad

Author: thehendrys Three stars, 500 posts Add to my Favorite Fools Ignore this person (you won't see their posts anymore) Number: 29046 of 76101
Subject: Re: Where to open IRA? Date: 4/10/2001 9:45 PM