Message Font: Serif | Sans-Serif

UnThreaded | Threaded | Whole Thread (4) | Ignore Thread Prev Thread | Next Thread
Author: dp23peace Add to my Favorite Fools Ignore this person (you won't see their posts anymore) Number: of 6  
Subject: Which is the most Foolish of them all? Date: 3/25/2009 2:44 PM
Post New | Post Reply | Reply Later | Create Poll . Report this Post | Recommend it!
Recommendations: 2
I am an IT manager for a fortune 500 company. We do some virtualization but definitely not to the extent that it is available.

As an investor I am trying to decide where to play this growing trend, which according to most sources, is definitely going to be highly adopted in the coming decade. This thread is intended to first dicuss who the players are and then discuss who are best positioned to reap the highest rewards.

While there is info on this everywhere I will use an article from Beth Cohen of the Advisory Group as a starting point. Here is an excerpt;

"...Some have broken cloud computing down into two types of products: utility computing and SaaS. Utility computing refers to backup, storage processing engines, virtual servers and other low-level services. Some of the vendors and offerings include:

On-demand computing: Amazon Web Services Elastic Compute Cloud (EC2) and Simple Storage Service (S3), IBM Blue Cloud, Oracle On Demand, Sun Cloud (future)
Servers: Joyent, Mosso (Rackspace)
Backup: EMC Mozy, Carbonite

SaaS, on the other hand, is usually sold on a per seat basis, and is particularly good for midsize businesses with simple requirements. There are a plethora of services available. There even has been a recent trend towards formerly software-only vendors adding SaaS offerings. The listing below is just a quick sampling of the many SaaS offerings now available:

CRM: Salesforce, NetSuite
ERP: SAP Business ByDesign, IBM Applications on Demand
E-mail: 123Together, Apptix
Voicemail: VirtualPBX
Office suite: Google, Microsoft Live