No. of Recommendations: 11
I had one of those moments last night that I used to read about on That Other Board in days of yore. A Why Aren't You Working moment. Lots of people will react quite negatively if you tell them you're retired at 42, and that you spend most days essentially goofing off.

I used to work in the game industry, and I was playing online with Aaron, who is still in the game industry. When we ended the session, we chatted for a bit over our headsets, and it came out that I'm retired. Which led to some moments of awkwardness.

You have to understand, the game industry is quite different from most jobs. The good people are all in it because they really love games, and they love making games. When I interviewed programming candidates, I'd always ask what games they were playing. I didn't want anyone who didn't care about games, because programmers have to make a lot of on-the-spot decisions about gameplay and user interface. Caring meant they'd spend some effort thinking about the player, and what would work best for them. Not caring meant they'd make the laziest decision and do something that damaged the game, sometimes significantly. I have quite a few bad programmer stories like that.

I was very motivated when I was working, and I had a low opinion of the guys who saw it as just a job. So admitting that I wasn't working on a project of my own was pretty awkward. I always figured that when I reached financial independence, I'd go off and do my own games. Yet when the time came, I found I'd rather play games, write the occasional review or analysis, or read books.