Message Font: Serif | Sans-Serif

UnThreaded | Threaded | Whole Thread (13) | Ignore Thread Prev | Next
Author: Foolferlove Big red star, 1000 posts Old School Fool Add to my Favorite Fools Ignore this person (you won't see their posts anymore) Number: of 121570  
Subject: Why it's dangerous to give tax advice... Date: 1/16/2005 12:06 AM
Post New | Post Reply | Reply Later | Create Poll Report this Post | Recommend it!
Recommendations: 38
...if you are not a pro.

Okay, some of you know that I'm a graduate student who enjoys doing taxes, reading about taxes, thinking about taxes, etc. And over the years I've learned a lot about taxes and I know for sure I'm in the "above average" category when it comes to knowing about taxes (which isn't saying much!), particulary because of the good folks here on this boards, and also because I like reading publication 17. ;)

Anyway, in school I get lots of questions from people who have never done taxes or don't really know what they are doing. For better or worse, I'm the "tax guy".

Well a fellow student in my lab has had a rough time. When I first met her a few years ago, she hadn't filed state or federal for 3 years because she didn't have the money. In fact, the first 2 years she didn't know she had to file at all. I convinced her to file for past years, and she got on a payment plan with the IRS and the state and she's moving on. Well, she's had a rough life, and it was made rougher when her 15 year old brother got expelled from school in NYC. He was sent to live with her, and her mom basically disowned him. My friend managed to obtain FULL legal custody, got him enrolled in a school in AL and is now basically a single "mother" at the age of 26, raising him solely on her meager stipend.