UnThreaded | Threaded | Whole Thread (4) | Ignore Thread Prev Thread | Next Thread
Author: VujnovGreg Add to my Favorite Fools Ignore this person (you won't see their posts anymore) Number: of 75375  
Subject: Wifes Retirement $ Date: 6/16/2000 1:11 PM
Post New | Post Reply | Reply Later | Create Poll . Report this Post | Recommend it!
Recommendations: 0
My wife has recently left the teaching profession and is 37 years old. We want to take the 25K out of the Cal. State Teachers Retirement system due to it's single digit returns. We can take the money out without penalty.I'm a novice investor and would appreciate any comment or suggestions regarding where we can re-invest this money. Do I assume correctly that we can put this into a Roth account and into a vehicle that would do better than the single digit returns from the State Teachers System,

Thank you
Print the post Back To Top
Author: jrr7 Big gold star, 5000 posts Feste Award Nominee! Old School Fool Add to my Favorite Fools Ignore this person (you won't see their posts anymore) Number: 22663 of 75375
Subject: Re: Wifes Retirement $ Date: 6/16/2000 1:32 PM
Post New | Post Reply | Reply Later | Create Poll . Report this Post | Recommend it!
Are there any tax issues involved in taking the money out (my hunch is there are).

You might avoid some of the tax hits by rolling the money over into a Conduit IRA, if that's allowed. What section of the IRS code is Cal S.T.R.S. under?

You can only contribute to a Roth account if you or your spouse have earned income and it's within certain limits.

As for where to put the money, that depends on your own needs, risk tolerances, and time horizon. Read some of the articles here at the Fool (I recommend the Fool's School) for some background.

Author: rjm1 Big red star, 1000 posts Add to my Favorite Fools Ignore this person (you won't see their posts anymore) Number: 22677 of 75375
Subject: Re: Wifes Retirement $ Date: 6/17/2000 10:01 AM