Message Font: Serif | Sans-Serif

UnThreaded | Threaded | Whole Thread (9) | Ignore Thread Prev | Next
Author: schvitzing Big gold star, 5000 posts Old School Fool Add to my Favorite Fools Ignore this person (you won't see their posts anymore) Number: of 252  
Subject: Re: Getting into public accounting Date: 8/4/2007 8:07 PM
Post New | Post Reply | Reply Later | Create Poll . Report this Post | Recommend it!
Recommendations: 0
will be graduating soon with an accounting degree from an online school. I am a non-traditional student, going into accounting after teaching in the public schools for 15 years. Since I won't really have the normal avenues for getting my foot in the door that a traditional student would (on campus job fairs, recruiting, etc.) I was wondering if any of you had any thoughts on how to approach prospetive employers. Since I'm still teaching, I would be able to do the summer interships that traditional students do. Do I just call HR at the different firms and ask about it?

I see that you're in Iowa. So, start here, at the Iowa Society of CPAs website.
http://www.iacpa.org/
Click on the "STUDENTS" link, and you'll see two relevant links: INTERNSHIPS and START HERE GO PLACES. The first takes you to a list of firms that are, at least, hiring interns [maybe f/t staff, too]; the second appears to be a commercial site, but the state society appears to have vetted it.

Monster.com is a waste of time, IMO, but the state society is a serious source.

Remember that you are seeking a f/t entry-level professional staff position. You might be able to leverage your years as a teacher by focusing on those firms that have governmental and not-for-profit clients. In other words, you can say that you've seen the client side of the business, even if not in accounting.

Good luck.

Schvitz
Post New | Post Reply | Reply Later | Create Poll . Report this Post | Recommend it!
Print the post  
UnThreaded | Threaded | Whole Thread (9) | Ignore Thread Prev | Next