UnThreaded | Threaded | Whole Thread (2) | Ignore Thread Prev | Next
Author: TTRoberts Big red star, 1000 posts Old School Fool Add to my Favorite Fools Ignore this person (you won't see their posts anymore) Number: of 76082  
Subject: Re: STOCK ALLOCATION WITHIN VUL POLICY Date: 9/13/2000 12:27 PM
Post New | Post Reply | Reply Later | Create Poll . Report this Post | Recommend it!
Recommendations: 0
williamsjim, you asked:

<< I am 43 and about to retire for awhile with a significant portfolio for income and a cash cushion for 2-3 years expenses. I'm new to these MF boards which I'm greatly enjoying, but I do have a question about how to split up investments in a recently purchased VUL policy. I want to invest for the long-term and take a moderately aggressive approach with 95% stocks and 5% cash (to pay cost of insurance). Any suggestions for splitting the investment between large cap, mid cap, small cap and international mutual funds? How much of the large cap should be S&P 500 index? If you're not comfortable with making a specific recommendation, could you please direct me to some reading sources? >>

When you look at your asset allocation for your VUL it's not a good idea to just look at it isolated from your total asset allocation model. Just as with any other investment vehicle (401(k), IRA, Roth IRA, etc., you can duplicate your overall asset allocation within each of these, or you can carve out parts of your allocation in each to take advantage of particular investment choice(s) that are better in one than the other while stall maintaining your particular allocation balance.