Message Font: Serif | Sans-Serif

UnThreaded | Threaded | Whole Thread (7) | Ignore Thread Prev Thread | Next Thread
Author: tabs101 Big red star, 1000 posts Old School Fool Add to my Favorite Fools Ignore this person (you won't see their posts anymore) Number: of 4867  
Subject: Writing daily and Thinking Deeper Date: 4/4/2012 1:26 PM
Post New | Post Reply | Reply Later | Create Poll . Report this Post | Recommend it!
Recommendations: 1
Hi all,

I am looking to spend the next year thinking very deeply about what I do, and have done, for the past decade. I am a high school teacher and a busy dad. I go through phases where I write for a while and then stop. Sometimes I focus on a specific word count, other times I try to write for a specific amount of time. The last time I stuck to writing for a few weeks, I had a lot of my ramblings on a word doc. What do you do after you've accumulated a dozen or so pages of your thoughts? Do you go back and edit? I am writing supposedly to "think deeper" about what I do, but I often feel like I am thinking, but how deeply? Without some feedback/push back, I am not sure how deeply I am thinking.
Print the post Back To Top
Author: notablelaggard Big gold star, 5000 posts Old School Fool Add to my Favorite Fools Ignore this person (you won't see their posts anymore) Number: 4824 of 4867
Subject: Re: Writing daily and Thinking Deeper Date: 4/4/2012 11:05 PM
Post New | Post Reply | Reply Later | Create Poll . Report this Post | Recommend it!
Recommendations: 0
You said it yourself, you are the kind of person who, without feedback, feel somewhat at sea.
I don't believe that you'll find that here; regular feedback of value. And my (humble) suggestion
would be that you seek out an actual writing group. I've seen them all over the
place in my town; libraries, community centers, and bookstores come to mind,
the same places that feature book clubs and reading groups will often
sponsor writer's groups as well.