Message Font: Serif | Sans-Serif

UnThreaded | Threaded | Whole Thread (5) | Ignore Thread Prev Thread | Next Thread
Author: lovingrose Big gold star, 5000 posts Old School Fool Add to my Favorite Fools Ignore this person (you won't see their posts anymore) Number: of 5015  
Subject: WWYD Date: 1/23/2013 12:12 PM
Post New | Post Reply | Reply Later | Create Poll . Report this Post | Recommend it!
Recommendations: 0
What would you do? Just curious.

I was contacted last fall by a company selling an alumni book for the university I graduated from. I was supposed to send them $100 for the book. During the conversation, the woman stated, "If you don't pay for it, it will not be sent to you."

I never bothered to pay for it for a couple reasons. 1) I'm never sure if a cold call to me is legit and usually assume it's a scam. 2) I was under the impression that if I did not pay for it, it would not be sent.

Well, about a month ago, I get the book in the mail. They are now calling me about payment.

My question -- is the book mine to keep? Am I obligated to pay for it? Should I return it?
Print the post Back To Top
Author: PineyLevel Big gold star, 5000 posts Old School Fool Add to my Favorite Fools Ignore this person (you won't see their posts anymore) Number: 4736 of 5015
Subject: Re: WWYD Date: 1/23/2013 12:13 PM
Post New | Post Reply | Reply Later | Create Poll . Report this Post | Recommend it!
Recommendations: 1
You're not obligated to pay for it unless you agreed to pay for it. You should ask them to pay postage to send it back.

Author: lovingrose Big gold star, 5000 posts Old School Fool Add to my Favorite Fools Ignore this person (you won't see their posts anymore) Number: 4742 of 5015
Subject: Re: WWYD Date: 1/24/2013 7:00 PM
Recommendations: 0
Thanks. I hadn't thought about asking for postage.

Author: anuvaka Big gold star, 5000 posts Old School Fool Add to my Favorite Fools Ignore this person (you won't see their posts anymore) Number: 4744 of 5015