UnThreaded | Threaded | Whole Thread (15) | Ignore Thread Prev | Next
Author: joelcorley Big gold star, 5000 posts Old School Fool Add to my Favorite Fools Ignore this person (you won't see their posts anymore) Number: of 308558  
Subject: Re: Another expose on the credit reporting indus Date: 2/15/2013 4:29 PM
Post New | Post Reply | Reply Later | Create Poll . Report this Post | Recommend it!
Recommendations: 3
xtn,

I wrote, BTW, disclosure of facts can be constrained by trade secret and non-disclosure agreements (contract). Those agreements can be buried in other contracts and be far from obvious...

To which you replied, Oh sure. I'm pretty confident that Joe Blow consumer doesn't have any such agreement with a CRA, or with any of his creditors. In fact most any credit agreement I've laid eyes on in my lifetime - excluding those cocktail napkin agreements used between family members borrowing money from one another - has language such that the consumer specifically agrees to disclosure.

My bigger concern was that the CRAs might require you to agree that the entire report and its contents are proprietary and you do not have the right to disclose it. Actually I've been told by potential creditors that the CRAs require something like that - that the information is proprietary and it cannot be disclosed in whole or in part - but I don't recall a CRA ever requesting that of me. Of course they could slip in such language at some point next time I go to sign up for a free report and I might not notice. Of course most people don't go around showing their own credit report to other people, so this is probably a pointless discussion...

You also said, Other problems I have with the 60 Minutes gig are as follows:

1. They say one in five Americans have a credit report that contains an error. They say that's a 20% error rate. No it isn't. Error rate would be number of trade line errors divided by number of trade lines.