Message Font: Serif | Sans-Serif

UnThreaded | Threaded | Whole Thread (3) | Ignore Thread Prev | Next
Author: altobarbara Two stars, 250 posts Old School Fool Add to my Favorite Fools Ignore this person (you won't see their posts anymore) Number: of 7313  
Subject: YARN--I love it!!! Date: 4/9/2004 3:23 PM
Post New | Post Reply | Reply Later | Create Poll . Report this Post | Recommend it!
Recommendations: 8
I've been a member of MF for a couple of months, but just discovered this board. I am a *serious* yarnie and have been reading past posts, wanting to post replies, but feeling maybe I shouldn't because they're all old, so I thought I'd post one sort of in reply to many and sort of as an intro.

First of all, I am a certified crochet teacher (yes, there are such things and the whole weekend of classes cost a foolish $21 through the Craft Yarn Council), contract crocheter and other similar things. If anyone has any crochet-ish questions of any sort, I'd be happy to help (Maureen, you said you were having trouble with a pattern, tho that was in January, I think--let me know if I can try to answer them). I also learned to knit last year and love it just as much as crocheting, just don't have all those years of experience --yet!

Someone posted about yarn stores in Paris, which made me want to share www.woolworks.org with you all. There are a ton of wonderful free patterns --knitting patterns, though--on that site, as well as probably the most incredible yarn store listing that exists. It is compiled from the input of those using the website and so there are stores listed all over the world. Feel free to add any you don't see.

As to yarn stashes... I have a roomful of yarn. No kidding. I am on a yarn diet at the moment, but there are, of course exceptions!