Message Font: Serif | Sans-Serif

UnThreaded | Threaded | Whole Thread (7) | Ignore Thread Prev Thread | Next Thread
Author: skoman One star, 50 posts Old School Fool Add to my Favorite Fools Ignore this person (you won't see their posts anymore) Number: of 25240  
Subject: you can do it too! Date: 9/23/2005 10:30 PM
Post New | Post Reply | Reply Later | Create Poll . Report this Post | Recommend it!
Recommendations: 10
Just thought I'd share a success story with you all.

I joined a company 2.5 years ago and was able to start 401k contributions after 6 mo. So as of today I have been contributing and earning for exactly 2 years.

I am not a 6 figure earner but I invest the full 17% my company allows every year. Since I have 20+ years to go to retirement I am a bit of a risk taker. I have chosen only small cap and mid cap funds for my 401k investments.

Luckily my company matches the first 6%, and I did get a bonus earlier this year that helped to the tune of a couple thousand.

Here is what you can do too....

As of today, after 2 years I have over $40,000 saved !!!! Amazing that I could save and grow my money that much in only 2 years. I estimate that I contributed a little more than half of this.

My suggestions to all, suck it up and live on the cheap until you can max out your 401K. Then as you start earning more $, you can increase your lifestyle. It feels good knowing I am making progress.

Now to find some cash for a Roth IRA....

Print the post Back To Top
Author: DeltaOne81 Big gold star, 5000 posts Add to my Favorite Fools Ignore this person (you won't see their posts anymore) Number: 19377 of 25240
Subject: Re: you can do it too! Date: 9/24/2005 1:39 AM
Post New | Post Reply | Reply Later | Create Poll . Report this Post | Recommend it!
Recommendations: 1
Now to find some cash for a Roth IRA....