UnThreaded | Threaded | Whole Thread (10) | Ignore Thread Prev Thread | Next Thread
Author: alpine1 Add to my Favorite Fools Ignore this person (you won't see their posts anymore) Number: of 76422  
Subject: Young guy with small 401(k) changing jobs... Date: 7/27/2000 9:49 PM
Post New | Post Reply | Reply Later | Create Poll Report this Post | Recommend it!
Recommendations: 0
Hey folks..

I'm 23 and have been contributing to my company's 401(k) since I graduated college a year and a half ago. I've got about $4000 in there now. I'm about to change jobs, including about a 30% raise, but the benefits do not include a 401(k). I'm looking for the best way to continue investing for the long-term. The new job is a two year contract, so after that time I may well be jumping back to a position with a 401(k). Should I move the money into an IRA? What about "cashing out," despite the penalties, and investing in an S&P Index fund? I plan to contribute 5-10% of my salary monthly to whatever strategy I end up going with. Salary is right at $60,000/year. Any suggestions would be much appreciated. Thanks..

Adam
Print the post Back To Top
Author: RandGraham One star, 50 posts Add to my Favorite Fools Ignore this person (you won't see their posts anymore) Number: 23739 of 76422
Subject: Re: Young guy with small 401(k) changing jobs... Date: 7/27/2000 10:18 PM
Post New | Post Reply | Reply Later | Create Poll Report this Post | Recommend it!

Should I move the money into an IRA?

Yes. You can move this money into a 'self directed ira'. That is what I recommend. It is important to do a trustee to trustee transfer. Let's say you decide to open a self directed IRA at Vanguard, then whoever is your 401k provider (Let's say for example Fidelity) should write a check to Vanguard. Do not have Fidelity write a check made out to you.

What about "cashing out," despite the penalties, and investing in an S&P Index fund?