UnThreaded | Threaded | Whole Thread (15) | Ignore Thread Prev Thread | Next Thread
Author: Worldleader31 Two stars, 250 posts Add to my Favorite Fools Ignore this person (you won't see their posts anymore) Number: of 35387  
Subject: Young - I Bonds and TIPS debate Date: 7/31/2003 3:36 PM
Post New | Post Reply | Reply Later | Create Poll . Report this Post | Recommend it!
Recommendations: 1
I am a young investor, 19 years old, and want to start a small bond portfolio using inflation protected treasury bonds. I would like to make small monthly contributions, around $50 to begin building a portfolio.

I know that I can buy I bonds from the Treasury department in $50 incremements. I can also sell them if need be without a problem. Right now, this seems like the way to go.

My question is this, I am very new to the bond market/idea but I have been investing for years. I am looking for any suggestions or advice on whether I bonds are the way to go or if I should look more seriously at TIPS. Here are a few of my questions:

-If I buy I bonds from the Treasury will I incur any brokerage/acquisition fees?
-I fall into the 28% tax bracket, I don't believe that tax consequences are anything to worry about, are there any pitfalls I don't forsee?
-I doubt it, but is it possible to use I bonds as collateral in the future?
-What maturity periods should I be expecting when setting up an I bond portfolio? When it matures does the Treasury just send me a check for the face value?

THANKS! I really appreciate any help you can give me in answering some of my questions. The Treasury depts. website is a little confusing in places.
Print the post Back To Top
Author: foobar73 Big red star, 1000 posts Feste Award Nominee! Add to my Favorite Fools Ignore this person (you won't see their posts anymore) Number: 8064 of 35387
Subject: Re: Young - I Bonds and TIPS debate Date: 7/31/2003 3:49 PM
Post New | Post Reply | Reply Later | Create Poll . Report this Post | Recommend it!