Skip to main content
Message Font: Serif | Sans-Serif

No. of Recommendations: 0
One of my 1099-DIVs indicates a special dividend that I received from a European company. It indicates that its a LTGC in box 2a instead of a qualified dividend. No tax rate difference, perhaps, but I'd rather get it right. Also it could make a tax difference due to canceling out with capital losses, or not doing so. Broker says they'll look into it, and I'm not the only one who has questioned it.

The other 1099-DIV indicates some short term capital gain distribution as qualified dividends by including them in both boxes 1a and 1b. Different tax rate, that's not right.

Not that I'm a rush to file because I'll owe some this year (as was the plan), but I still like to get all the paperwork out of the way, so its not hanging over me.

< sigh > oh well
Print the post Back To Top
I complain about this here every year. I have been finding errors on my 1099's almost every year for several years. While it is true that I sometimes invest in some funky companies, it is very frustrating. Ever since the rule allowing qualified dividends, I have seen problems, though some problems are not specifically related to that.

As I mentioned, I kept receiving amended 1099's from Ameritrade until March 22 last year. Not much hope of finishing my taxes early (and accurately) in that case. It is lucky that I waited until the last minute or I would have had to file an amended return.

If it isn't too much of a PITA, you might track down all of that info yourself -- figure out which companies paid you dividends, and contact them (or look at their web site) to figure out the tax treatment. Of course, there is a chance that it will be incorrectly reported on the 1099's, and never corrected, in which case you'll have to amend your returns anyway, because the IRS will want you to match the 1099's even if they're incorrect.

Randy