Skip to main content
Message Font: Serif | Sans-Serif

No. of Recommendations: 1
Apologies for the long post. I sold an investment property in late 2002 (house 1) but deferred capital gains taxes by setting up a 1031 exchange. This involved buying a house in Brooklyn (house 2) that I rented out for about two years to complete the exchange. Since then I have lived in house 2 as my primary residence. The plan was to live in it for at least two years then sell it using Code 121 in 2006 or 7. As I understood it, when I sold house 2 as my primary residence, I wouldn't have to pay capital gains tax from the sale of the house 1, which would disappear, and I would not have to pay capital gains taxes on the sale of house 2 up to 250,000 (as allowable for a single person). I'm a grad student with minimal financial background and inherited house 1 when one of my parents passed away; I've made some relatively big decisions in the past few years to fit this plan. I would really like to sell the house at this point.

Unfortunately I recently learned that in 2004 the tax laws changed and to combine a 1031 exchange and Code 121 in this way – to buy an investment property as part of a 1031 exchange then convert it to a primary residence and sell it as such – requires that one own the property for a minimum of 5 years. A thread from 10/30/2004 titled “Change in 1031 exchange law?” concerns this change.

I'm looking for a new accountant knowledgeable about 1031 exchanges, and will of course consult with them. I am also trying to learn what I can on my own. It looks like if I want to benefit from both 1031 and 121 I must hold onto the property until the 5 years is up. Another option is to convert it back to an investment property by renting it out for about another year then do another 1031 exchange.