No. of Recommendations: 0
I am new to having a retirement account besides being completely new to investing so I would really appreciate any advice you have on this...
I left my job in 2001 in order to attend college full time last fall. I have a 401k from the previous employer but I do not know what to do with it. I don't know if it matters but the end of year statement says I am 100% vested. I haven't touched the money but I am not contributing to a retirement plan right now either.
Should I just leave it alone in the account or should look for a Roth IRA plan to roll this into?

College mom
Print the post Back To Top
Greetings, College Mom, and welcome. You asked:

I have a 401k from the previous employer but I do not know what to do with it. I don't know if it matters but the end of year statement says I am 100% vested. I haven't touched the money but I am not contributing to a retirement plan right now either.
Should I just leave it alone in the account or should look for a Roth IRA plan to roll this into?

For details on how to take a distribution from your 401(k), see my article "Transfer or Roll Over Your 401(k)" at http://www.fool.com/retirement/retireeport/2001/retireeport010312.htm. Basically, provided you have at least $5K in that 401(k), you may leave it there. If you have less than $5K, then your employer may require you to take a distribution. Sometimes amounts less than $5K may stay in the plan, it's up to your employer. If you must take a distribution, then you may take the money and pay income taxes (plus a 10% penalty if you are younger than age 59 1/2). Alternatively, you may transfer the sum to a traditional IRA only.