No. of Recommendations: 0
I have been contributing 6% of pre-tax pay to my 401k for 2 years. My company matches 1/2% for every % withheld until 6%, so I was getting the maximum company match. Due to my current debt situation, I have stopped contributing. I'm 25 and I'm planning this shutoff to be around 6 mos. By then I should be in a better debt position. I brace myself for the flames.
Print the post Back To Top
No. of Recommendations: 3
Due to my current debt situation, I have stopped contributing. I'm 25 and I'm planning this shutoff to be around 6 mos. By then I should be in a better debt position. I brace myself for the flames.

Why flames? The plain fact is, if you are so in debt that you can't afford to put away into savings, then you *can't*. However, ABSOLUTELY only use the money for the purposes for which you need it! (I assume you're going to add it to your snowball, or to replace money you need for living that you're using in your snowball.) Otherwise, it might be too hard to "tighten the belt" back down in 6 months... I, myself, went from 15% to 0% - and then back up to 2% with my last raise (the % that made my take-home the same as it was before the raise!)

Maureen
No. of Recommendations: 3
kirbivore,

You wrote, I have been contributing 6% of pre-tax pay to my 401k for 2 years. My company matches 1/2% for every % withheld until 6%, so I was getting the maximum company match. Due to my current debt situation, I have stopped contributing. I'm 25 and I'm planning this shutoff to be around 6 mos. By then I should be in a better debt position. I brace myself for the flames.

Do this if you can find no other way to dig yourself out of your debt. It's probably not worth making unmatched contributions while you're trying to get out of debt; but in your case giving up the match is effectively the same as taking a voluntary 3% cut in pay.