Skip to main content
No. of Recommendations: 0
Newbie here... I have a roll-over coming (in 2 weeks)from a former employer and need to open an IRA account. (I know I have 60 days to invest it w/o penalties.)

1. Can I open an IRA account that is self-directed?
2. That allows me to trade and have a cash/MM account to work from also?
3. I think I want to invest in the FF. But I saw a few posts that questioned the foolishness of investing in the FF with an account over 15K. My roll-over will be several times that.
4. Been watching the discount brokers board, but anyone have suggestions for a discount broker for IRAs on this board?
5. Any advice from Fools would be appreciated.

Thanks!
Print the post Back To Top
slofool98 asks:
>
>Newbie here... I have a roll-over coming (in 2 weeks)
>from a former employer and need to open an IRA
>account. (I know I have 60 days to invest it w/o
>penalties.)

One big bit of advice right off the bat: Make sure the rollover is a direct institution-to-institution rollover, *not* a check made out to you! You'll save a lot of headaches.

If your old employer wants you to take the money *NOW*, and you haven't made up your mind about where to park it, just roll it over to a bank's money-market IRA and leave it there while you look.

>1. Can I open an IRA account that is self-directed?
>2. That allows me to trade and have a cash/MM account
> to work from also?

Yes and yes! Just about all discount brokers offer that (E*Trade, Schwab, etc.). It's just like a regular brokerage account (except, in most (all?) cases, they won't let you buy options or trade on margin). With most such accounts, any cash balance is automatically swept into a money market fund until you need it.

>3. I think I want to invest in the FF. But I saw a
> few posts that questioned the foolishness of
> investing in the FF with an account over 15K. My
> roll-over will be several times that.