Skip to main content
Message Font: Serif | Sans-Serif

No. of Recommendations: 0
As a teacher, my school offers a 403b. I'm not exactly thrilled with my investment options because it appears to only be mutual funds with load fees and I have only gotten a return in the 4-8% range over the past ten years. My school does not match my 403 contributions.

I also have a Roth IRA with NY York Life but again appear to be stuck with only mutual funds with load fees with average to below average returns.

Where does a Motley Fool put their money based on that scenario?
Print the post Back To Top
No. of Recommendations: 1
No load mutual funds from Vanguard and/or Fidelity are usually a good choice for your Roth IRA. Vanguard's 500 Index Fund, ticker VFINX, is a good one to begin with or consider a total market fund like VTI.

It is possible to move your Roth IRA to another custodian, but often your insurance company Roth will have your money in annuities that have surrender charges until a specified date. Check out those fees and understand when they expire before moving your funds.

However, note you can put this years (and until you file income taxes last years) Roth contribution to any account you want. So you can start a second Roth at a different custodian if you wish. Your total contribution to all of your Roth IRAs (and traditional IRAs if you have any) must not exceed the max for your age group, usually $5500.

With no advantages for your 403b, I should think you would want to max your Roth contribution first, and then do 403b if you have the resources.
I would second the idea of opening up a new Roth or moving your Roth. New York Life is an insurance company, not a brokerage, so you may want to check that your RIRA isn't actually an annuity.