No. of Recommendations: 0
I had to move out from my husband of 15 years for the safety of one of my children. I then got cancer and lost my job which I had only had since I moved out because I was a stay at home mom and took care of our farm busines while my husband worked his job with the forest service and a range conservationist. I never finished my last year of college because of our three children and started back to school a month before I found out I had cancer. Before we were married I worked as a waitress to put myself through school, but the problem is, back then, they didn't require you to claim your tips, only your paycheck amount. So I wasn't getting any social security taken out of my tip amount which was much more than a paycheck, because base pay for waitresses was only $1.25 an hour back then. Our business was also under my husbands name, so social security was being taken out for him but I was basically nonexistent. So, needless to say, I have no retirement and only $5,000.00 in my social security fund and I had to quit work because of the cancer. I am now cancer free and starting my own internet business but I don't know what to do about retirement. I never imagined my marriage would fail and I would be in this situation. How do I start putting money away for retirment and what is the fastes way to make it grow?
Print the post Back To Top
To the extent that you have earned income from your own business, there are several plans for the self employed. Look into an SEP IRA and Keogh plans. There may be others.