Message Font: Serif | Sans-Serif

No. of Recommendations: 0
I've researched this a bit and would like to get some input.

I've been maxing out my 401k since 1997 at the same company/401k plan, and plan to continue until I'm 45 in 2019. Then I'd like to take about 5+ years off, and then come back to work at 50 or maybe a little later and work until 55 then fully retire. (Assuming my company is still around and willing to hire me)

I'm assuming even if I came back to work for one day at the age of 55 and quit, I'd be eligible for penalty free withdraws. (Without having to use SEP withdraws).

Curious if there is some sort of length of employment requirement beyond just being over 55 when one retires.

My alternative is SEP but looking for other options.

--
whyohwhyoh
Print the post Back To Top
No. of Recommendations: 2
I've been maxing out my 401k since 1997 at the same company/401k plan, and plan to continue until I'm 45 in 2019. Then I'd like to take about 5+ years off, and then come back to work at 50 or maybe a little later and work until 55 then fully retire.

I think it's a huge risk to assume you will be able to just step back into a job after 'taking off' 5 years. How are you going to support yourself from 45 - 50? Why not just work until you are 49 or 50, and then use the same strategy to support yourself until you reach 59 1/2?

(Assuming my company is still around and willing to hire me)

Unless you actually own the company, or have something else to offer your company that nobody else can, AND that they won't decide that they can live without after 5 years, that's a HUGE assumption.

I'm assuming even if I came back to work for one day at the age of 55 and quit, I'd be eligible for penalty free withdraws. (Without having to use SEP withdraws).

Here is the IRS requirement, from Pub 575: