The Motley Fool Discussion Boards

Previous Page

Personal Finances / Paying Back Student Loans

URL:  https://boards.fool.com/i-was-wondering-if-anyone-has-any-thoughts-about-15266752.aspx

Subject:  Re: Grace Period Date:  6/27/2001  6:58 PM
Author:  W505a Number:  371 of 4855

I was wondering if anyone has any thoughts about my situation...I graduated in 1998, and went on within 4 months to a graduate fellowship. I have been doing this fellowship for the past 3 years, and defering my loans. The fellowship and the deferment are over at the end of this month. Since a graduate fellowship is considered an in-school deferment, I was under the impression that I would receive a 6 month grace period after the fellowship was over. But my loan company is saying no, that my grace period was used up after I graduated with a degree and I am not entitled to a grace period even though as a graduate fellow I am considered a student. A grace period ends up being important because it will give me some time to consolidate my loans at a lower rate and apparently if you consolidate in a grace period the interest rates drop another .6%. What makes this disturbing is that this whole grace period thing seems like it is subject to interpretation by the loan companies as several people I know (who are also graduate fellows)are getting a grace period after their fellowship.

This is a Higher Education Act (HEA) question. It sounds like your lender is trying to treat the last three years as an out-of-school deferment situation, when it sounds more like an in-school one. I think the rule is that everyone is entitled to the 6-month grace period after they complete the in-school period.

Stafford Loans are under the HEA and are an "entitlement"--there is no option on the lender if it cares to acknowledge a grace period or not.