The Motley Fool Discussion Boards

Previous Page

Stocks I / Incyte Genomics

URL:  https://boards.fool.com/hi-fushi-thanks-for-staying-up-late-and-15297748.aspx

Subject:  Re: ncyte, Lexicon in drug discovery pact Date:  7/3/2001  8:02 AM
Author:  incylong Number:  749 of 803

Hi Fushi, thanks for staying up late and commenting. Let me first comment on small molecules. Note that I said "in the future" (I did not limit it to 10 years, but I would expect it within the next 30 years)

I'm a chemist and was sort of raised on the idea of a small molecule drug as the way to go. However, here are the problems I see.

If we consider non-protein compounds up to about 5000 molecular weight as "small molecule drugs" this probably includes stuff on the market now and in the past and captures biological products hidden away in the rainforst plants etc. There is no reason to believe that for any specific disease/condition there will be an effective (much less safe and affordable) treatment among this group. There is just no logical connection. For 100 years it has been a process of trial and error to find an active agent then systematically modify it to optimize its effectiveness. In the future, if we knew the active site of a protein, then we could probably design a small molecule that would act on it (and God knows what else). Ultimately, we are just designing ligands to biological targets. I suspect that the ratio of potency will be something like this: Effective dose at transcription factor target nM, effective dose at mRNA target uM, effective dose at protein target mM. If you go after a protein you must have a compound that has a million times less effect on transcription factors to avoid possible side effects...etc.

You must determine the structure of the target site in some detail, before you can rationally design a small molecule ligand.