The Motley Fool Discussion Boards

Previous Page

Financial Planning / Paying For College

URL:  https://boards.fool.com/as-a-father-of-a-14-month-old-i-was-curious-if-15461565.aspx

Subject:  Re: Parent vs Child Assets Date:  7/28/2001  1:53 AM
Author:  CCSand Number:  4096 of 8558

As a father of a 14 month old, I was curious if anyone regrets putting the money in your child's name. It seems to create a lot of financial aid problems that would be avoided by keeping the money in your own name. I realize this strategy negates the possibility of an Ed-IRA or a 529plan so there are certainly pros and cons to both.

This may not be the answer you want to hear, but I hope I can give you a little perspective.

I am an attorney. My education was both too long and too expensive. Fortunately, I was lucky to have parents who earned, invested and saved a lot of money to send me through college, paralegal school and then law school. It is not recommended that full time law students work a full time job, therefore my parents gave me an allowance to live on. It was an incredibly small allowance. I had a nearly impossible time making ends meet. I didn't live extravagantly. There just wasn't a lot of money.

My friends encouraged me to get a student loan. I had never applied for one before and so was a novice. I barely had a credit card at this point. But they all said it was easy to get and, as I found out, it was. The first loan was for $4,000. I soon ran out of that money and the following year, I applied for a larger $20,000 loan. The only smart thing I did about that was to take $4,000 off the top of the second loan and use it to pay off the first loan. I figured it would be easy to repay once I was out of law school and had a high 5 figure salary.

Ha!