The Motley Fool Discussion Boards

Previous Page

Investing/Strategies / Retirement Investing

URL:  https://boards.fool.com/goodnewsonly-im-new-to-this-thread-but-i-wanted-23373883.aspx

Subject:  Re: Retirement Plan - Which Way To Go? Date:  12/2/2005  12:28 PM
Author:  wintbill Number:  48574 of 96151

goodnewsonly,

I'm new to this thread, but I wanted to add some comments.

First of all, congratulations on taking the initiative to seek out opinions, recommendations, and ideas from those around you, including your consultation with a fee-only planner and posters on the Fool message boards. You are ultimately the only individual responsible for making your financial decisions, and I applaud you for asking questions first before proceeding with any quick decisions.

Your quote of $4,000 for a comprehensive financial plan from a NAFPA advisor may seem high at first, but consider what you receive. Not only does the plan include recommendations on investments, but I assume the plan identifies opportunities with your health benefits, insurance needs, tax issues, relevant estate planning items, and your personal legacy. A NAPFA planner is a fiduciary, an individual you trust that acts upon your best interests. In addition, it is likely that the planner you engaged holds certain professional designations, many of which require continuing eduction credits and ethics instruction.