The Motley Fool Discussion Boards

Previous Page

Investing/Strategies / New Paradigm Investing

URL:  https://boards.fool.com/casciman-great-post-being-a-history-buff-your-33044490.aspx

Subject:  Re: OT: The Future of Programming Date:  4/20/2018  6:48 PM
Author:  FlixFool Number:  93228 of 117900

Casciman,

Great post! Being a history buff, your story of being at SRI during the ARPANET days growing up during the infancy of C and UNIX fascinates me!

While not a programmer, I too know a lot about programmers, but more from current times. I'm a UNIX System Administrator. Well, not really anymore, because virtualization, automation, and the cloud are rapidly making that a dying profession as well, therefore I must adapt or die. But I digress.

Programmers come in many stripes. ... Some are not really that bright. Others are smart but misdirected. Most lack personal awareness skills. Once in awhile you run into somebody who can do the nerd work and also work with actual people. Some are as verbal as anybody on this board. But that is unusual.
Top coders, who eventually turn into team leaders, who can actually verbalize, are worth their weight. These people are hard to find and need to be paid a lot of money because they make a difference.
If you have a smart kid then you simply can’t go wrong directing that person to software development. I’ve helped many in this regard and their results have been fabulous. It’s not for everybody. Most simply are not smart enough. We are way out at the far right of the Bell Curve, where only males exist, it appears.

In many ways things haven't changed. I wouldn't go so far as to say "where only males exist", though. While we are still a majority, women are catching up. We have a fairly high ratio of women at my company, many of them immigrants, mostly from India, but a few from China as well. They are are as smart as, and in some cases smarter than, many of the guys in the company. But that's almost irrelevant.