Message Font: Serif | Sans-Serif

No. of Recommendations: 0
A few ways to help tenderize a steak that I can think of:

Salt. Use a liberal amount and let the steak sit in the fridge for several hours. Excepting the papain enzyme written about above which I have no knowledge of, salt is one of the few things that can penetrate meat (fish, chicken (not through the skin), and others). Salting makes minor changes in the protein structure which has the effect of tenderizing.

Acid - I've always found my marinated flanks are more tender than without the marinade, but that could also be the salt. I suspect acid does have some involvement though have not confirmed scientifically.

The Cut - Take flank steak for example. Making sure to cut it against the grain in small strips will produce a far, far more tender cut than cutting with the grain. When using flank steak in a stir fry, I'll cut with the grain to get it into 2 inch strips and then cut against the grain into 1/4" thick strips x 2" long. This helps tremendously. Freezing the meat for about 30 minutes before you cut it makes the knife work a lot easier.

In short, use a lot of salt and acid and cut the steak correctly!

A.J.
Print the post Back To Top
No. of Recommendations: 1
I've never used meat tenderizer or a needle thing, but I sometimes marinate beef, especially chuck, flank, and skirt steak. For French style, tend to marinate in wine. East Asian style, usually soy sauce or fish sauce
Traditionally the meat tenderizers have contained MSG. It does add sodium. And is reported to cause "Chinese restaurant syndrome" in some individuals. But is probably ok.

Many people pound steak to tenderize it. Especially round steak. They make hammers for that purpose. But some merely hit is with blade of a knife. Home made cube steak is the net result.