Message Font: Serif | Sans-Serif

No. of Recommendations: 37
Hello to the Value Investing board. I’m a newcomer here and it looks like a pretty good place to swap ideas. A friend suggested I get a membership, and when I saw it was free, I decided to join. After some poking around I found this discussion group, which seems to fit with how I look at the market, so it sounds like a good place to me. So I guess the first thing to do is introduce myself and then say something about my value approach. I’m a retired surgeon, living well and happily off my investments. Retired a few years ago at age 53, thanks in most part to what I’m about to describe. Having spent 25 or so years in and around the markets, I’ve tried just about everything, found lots of ways to lose money, until finally developing and settling on what is most likely called a value approach. So when I saw a “Value” group here, I thought this was the right place to start. The approach I’ll describe in this posting works well for me and I like to share it with others every chance I get. I started using an earlier version of this approach in the early 1990’s, still reading, learning, and trying to see how things fit. Then in 1993 I brought it up at a lunch meeting during a conference with some other docs, and there seemed to be some interest. So a bunch of us ended up forming an investment group, and lots of what follows is not purely my own thinking but rather the result of many others’ ideas. Some of them have stayed with it, while others have not. Most recently I taught all this in a two-day seminar at a local university, for the ninth time in the past 2 years. They just keep selling tickets and sending me checks, and I keep on showing up and talking about it. And I keep telling the school that I’d gladly do it for free, but for some reason they feel the need to pay me for something I just love to do. Anyway, what follows is simple, but not easy (like most good things in life). And it works….consistently. S