No. of Recommendations: 0
I'm suddenly seeing a msg in the lower right asking me to "Activate Windows" by going into the Settings area. I've been using WIN10 on this machine for maybe a year or so and not seen such a warning. What could be driving this and should I be concerned?
Print the post Back To Top
I'm suddenly seeing a msg in the lower right asking me to "Activate Windows" by going into the Settings area. I've been using WIN10 on this machine for maybe a year or so and not seen such a warning. What could be driving this and should I be concerned?

I am by no means an expert on Microsoft Windows, but I do have Windows 7 Professional on my machine, and have run Windows XP Home and Windows 95 on computers in the past.

I would be very concerned about this "Activate Windows" message. I would worry that it is some infernal pest that may result in your machine being compromised or worse. Make sure your virus scanner has checked this. Perhaps Malwarebytes should be run on it as well. Try very hard to find out if it came directly from Microsoft, and preferably find out what it does before using it.
've been using WIN10 on this machine for maybe a year or so and not seen such a warning. What could be driving this and should I be concerned?
Apply any updates recently? This wouldn't be the first time MSFT screwed the pooch and caused an inadvertent deactivation. If so, they usually self-heal within a week or two.
No. of Recommendations: 2
I'm suddenly seeing a msg in the lower right asking me to "Activate Windows" by going into the Settings area. I've been using WIN10 on this machine for maybe a year or so and not seen such a warning.

A couple of thoughts because I just couldn't resist:

a. If you are already using Win10 then, "Activate Windows" is nonsense. Ignore it.

b. At the same time, Win10 is not a real Operating System - it is a front, a way to spy on you and your computer activity.

c. A valid Operating System does not need a dozen updates a week!

Good luck.