Message Font: Serif | Sans-Serif

No. of Recommendations: 0
I am an author and a poloyglot. I speak several language and Im adding more every year. Im an American living in Brazil and I am offically a webtrepeneur and a n amateur MMA/Submission Fighter.BJJ trying to turn pro.

I mention all this becaue I am always writing but I am worried that a some point agents consider you too old to be marketable? Is this a factor? I am aware of the MMA making me somewhat marketable, and I will self-publish or try o solicit an aegnt for 3 non-fiction books I'm working on that are mainly informational guides regarding my foreign langauge ability and my MMA professsion.

At heart I am a novelist and writer and I know nothing of how to market myself. Of course this is not even beginnining on discussing quality level of writing, which of course has to be on the money. I'd apreciate any advice.

Even in my fighter career I am making it an issue o pick the right tournaments to be seen in and to market myself. All opinions, put-downs, pick me ups nad ideas are appreciated. Anyone can feel free to reach me at dmaswary@hotmail.com
Print the post Back To Top
No. of Recommendations: 1
OK, no rush, get in line, I can only answer one question at a time

Anyone?????
No. of Recommendations: 2
>>>>I mention all this becaue I am always writing but I am worried that a some point agents consider you too old to be marketable? Is this a factor?

dmaswary: Legally, agents and publishers can't discriminate due to age. Of course, there's a big difference between an employer firing an effective employee due to age and an agent or publisher simply declining to represent/buy a book. No one can force them to take you on. On the other hand, plenty of successful authors publish well into their 70s and 80s. It might only be an issue if you're that old and trying to get your first book published.