Skip to main content
No. of Recommendations: 10
Alrighty, Admiral - you asked for it.
how about explaining the etymology of the username "babyfrog" as recompense to the FC

Back in the fall of 1990, I was a new sophomore at the Illinois Mathematics and Science Academy ( http://www.imsa.edu ), at the time, the nation's only three year public residential high school for students gifted in science and mathematics. At the time, my class was the largest ever to attend, because the school was expanding and building another dorm.

The dorm was supposed to have been finished by the start of the school year, but it is a state school, and as with most publicly funded projects, it was behind schedule. Add a tornado that ripped the roof off the still uncompleted structure, and completing the project anywhere near on time became an impossible task. As a result, somewhere around seventy of us male sophomores got the pleasure of living, barracks style, in the student union for the first few months of school. Seventy male teenagers living in three large rooms is not the best living arrangement, and quite quickly, the place deteriorated to what we now lovingly refer to as "The Ghetto."

For the first few days, it was not too bad, but then the juniors and seniors started to show up and repopulate the rest of the school. We quickly became a spectacle, as the showers were in the gymnasium locker rooms, a good march away, through the school hallways, from our bunks. One of the first seniors I met during this daily march to the showers was a woman named Amy [last name left blank to protect her identity]. Amy's first words to me were, and I quote, "Tadpole. You look like a tadpole. From now on, I'm calling you 'Tadpole.'"