No. of Recommendations: 2
Not really a computer question but thought I'd ask here anyway...

Anyone here have any experience with switching over from a traditional land-line phone to a VOIP service?

Specifically considering Comcast / Xfinity service as we currently have our TV and internet access from them. They have several "combination" packages to choose from.

Am wondering about the VOIP service in general (I've never used it) - is making and receiving phone calls the same compared to a regular land-line? Is Comcast / Xfinity a relatively good or bad service?

Any thoughts / comments would be appreciated.
Print the post Back To Top
No. of Recommendations: 3
I've been using Vonage now for nearly 12 years. The full service with Taxes and fees is around $30/month. There is no difference in quality between it and a land line service. The basics:

https://vonagelogins.com/vonage-residential/

RayB
No. of Recommendations: 1
I don't have experience with Xfinity VOIP (though we do use their broadband service), but have used VOIP for many years -- Ooma. There are a few, minor annoyances with our setup (don't know if they're specific to Ooma or more general VOIP issues we'd have with anyone). It often seems to not be full duplex, and there's a slight delay -- but I think that might be when talking with cell users (which is the vast majority of calls these days). Sometimes there's some weird feedback-like noise on the line that can be annoying.

But mainly it seems comparable to a land-line, from what I can remember. Except the price. Unlimited local & long-distance (within the US) for about $4/mo taxes (once you've purchased the unit). Hard to beat that.

Ken
No. of Recommendations: 5