No. of Recommendations: 7
Any words of wisdom for us?

No one will ever accuse me of being the most frugal person on this site. DW and I did a complete DIY kitchen remodel almost 15 years ago. Average sized galley kitchen, with vaulted ceilings. We ripped out the existing soffit boxes and installed extra tall upper cabinets for extra storage (GREAT idea). For cabinets, we went the HD route, and spent close to $12k for upgraded finishes and all plywood construction. I don't regret paying the extra for the more sturdy construction. We also went with a light rail and stacked crown moldings, which weren't exactly cheap, but really made the finished product look professionally done. Also added under cabinet and above cabinet lighting - all DIY.

I had no issues self-installing the cabinets, but I am a handy guy (engineer by trade), and I did carefully shim each cabinet box, and drilled/screwed all of the face frames together, making a SOLID completely unit out of the cabinet boxes. We enjoyed that kitchen for nearly 10 years, and it was still a selling point when we sold the place. Zero regrets - first person that viewed our place made an offer on he spot.

During the remodel, we were on a first name basis with the folks at the Chinese take-out place next to Home Depot. Our nightly ritual: pick up whatever you need for that evening's work, and grab take-out on the way home. We had it down to a science, DW could order when I got in the check out line, and food was ready when we had the car loaded. Not having your regular kitchen is a pain in the *** from demolition until you get your countertops and sink back in.

I don't get the detractors of granite in some of the posts above. I've had it in my kitchens the last 2 houses, and zero regrets. It's heavy/solid, durable, heat proof, and looks good. I've never had issues with any of it.