Skip to main content
Message Font: Serif | Sans-Serif

No. of Recommendations: 0
Greetings,

I am pretty new to Fooldom and trying to learn and understand.... One question I have is this: What is keeping AOL from being included in the list of Rule Makers? My number-crunching of AOL's recent figures through the RM Essentials spreadsheet makes it look pretty good.

Any insights would be appreciated.

Thanks, Charlie Crissman
Print the post Back To Top
What is keeping AOL from being included in the list of Rule Makers?
--- ---
I will venture an answer...
Having just completed the Rule Maker Seminar, I learned that there are several qualitative components to consider in addition to the number crunching. It's possible that AOL failed qualitatively.

Some of these qualitative points, such as:
- Dominant brand
- Repeat-purchase business
- Convenience
- Expanding possibilities

are mentioned in the RM Portfolio Introduction
http://www.fool.com/portfolios/rulemaker/rulemakerintroduction.htm?ref=LN

HTH,
RJS100
No. of Recommendations: 6
What is keeping AOL from being included in the list of Rule Makers?
--- ---
Having just completed the Rule Maker Seminar, I learned that there are several qualitative components to consider in addition to the number crunching. It's possible that AOL failed qualitatively.

Some of these qualitative points, such as:
- Dominant brand
- Repeat-purchase business
- Convenience
- Expanding possibilities

This is a joke, right?

Dominant brand

And a more dominant ISP brand is....?

Repeat-purchase business

29 million subs paying $22 per month, every month by credit card doesn't count?

Convenience

Come on, say it with me. "So Easy To Use, No Wonder It's #1"

Expanding possibilities

Time Warner cable. Road Runner. Aimster. Mapquest. Netscape. Warner Music. HBO. CNN. The WB. Warner Books. Time Magazine.

Yeah, nothing there that digital downloading will have anything to do with.

OK. This was a joke, right?