Message Font: Serif | Sans-Serif

No. of Recommendations: 2
Hi,

I'm new to the discussion boards, and somewhat new to the Fool community. I say somewhat because I actually have been slightly tuned to Fool since the dot com boom days (if only I would have followed their advice back then). Anyway I am now signed up for 3 newsletters (SA, HG, and DRIP) and started getting more involved by reading all their training and newsletters and making decisions accordingly (it is actually exciting when you are making informed decisions and know you are doing the right thing - I was excited to buy netflix when they dropped by 4+ bucks the other week).

OK after my longwinded introduction here is my question.

I've been diligently building my 401k for years and as an employee of the firm can actually put money into the company stock (i know I know I hear the enron echo here, but I think BAC has a fairly good track record).

My question is - although one should be careful how much they invest in the company they work for, since the only other choices I have are mutual funds (which I dont like - actually almost despise) how much should I invest into BAC within my 401k into BAC as an employee?
My total 401k holdings for may age I think is significant (close to 175k and in my low 30's) I also have about 25k in other long term holdings.

At my age I am willing to tolerate a significant amount of risk (i thought that would help)

thank you so much and sorry for the long message.
Print the post Back To Top
I see no reason to have more than 25% of my stock portfolio in any one stock, any investment can go bad. I see no reason to have more than 15% - 20% of my net worth in any one stock.

"My question is - although one should be careful how much they invest in the company they work for, since the only other choices I have are mutual funds (which I dont like - actually almost despise) how much should I invest into BAC within my 401k into BAC as an employee?