No. of Recommendations: 0
Hello, all:

This is my first post to this board, though I've been a lurker for awhile now.

So, I'm looking at the possibilities of becoming a Self-Employed Fool. Right now, I work in IT, doing programming, database work, web development, etc. in the D.C. area. I'm weighing the idea of becoming an independent contractor/consultant in the same field, or the idea of trying to break into something completely different.

Anyway, I have a beach vacation coming up and, in addition to my Travis McGee mystery novels, I'm looking for educational/inspirational reading material that might be helpful for making a decision.

So, are there any books that you've read that you wish you read before making the leap? Are there any other books that have been inspirational or invaluable in your decision to become self-employed?

Any suggestions would be appreciated.

Thanks!

CayoConch
Print the post Back To Top
No. of Recommendations: 2
So, are there any books that you've read that you wish you read before making the leap? Are there any other books that have been inspirational or invaluable in your decision to become self-employed?

One of the best books I ever read was "Growing a Business" by Paul Hawken - $10.40 at Amazon ... I read it YEARS ago, but I still carry in my mind one of his major themes, which is that having too much capital to start a business is often a problem, not an asset. Money doesn't buy creativity and it doesn't let you "learn the ropes" one little step at a time, which you just have to do regardless of what business you're in. You NEVER know as much as you think you do.