Skip to main content
No. of Recommendations: 0

I AM NEW TO BONDS. I HAVE A STOCK PORTFOLIO THAT I'VE BEEN WRESTLING WITH FOR OVER A YEAR. HAVEN'T WE ALL?!!

I JUST CAME INTO SOME MONEY AND AM TRYING TO DECIDE BETWEEN INVESTING IN THE VANGUARD WELLINGTON BALANCED MUTUAL FUND (VWELX) AND THE VANGUARD TOTAL MKT. BOND INDEX FUND (VBMFX) AS I HAVE NO BONDS. AS I DON'T NEED THE INCOME IT WILL BE REINVESTED BACK INTO THE FUNDS.

I'M A LONG TERM INVESTOR SO DON'T WANT TO MAKE ANY MISTAKES AND HAVE TO SWITCH FUNDS. ANY SUGGESTIONS???

THANX......

Print the post Back To Top
No. of Recommendations: 1
Hi, amanda1357!

Please don't type in all caps; it's hard to read. It's considered to be the equivalent of shouting. Be polite, capitalize right!

A balanced fund is a combination stock and bond fund. The fund manager buys and sells as necessary to keep the two assets in balance (i.e. one of them does not grow to dominate the other).

Why have you decided you need bonds? Laying out your reasons should make things a lot more clear.

Is this a taxable or tax-deferred account?

I'M A LONG TERM INVESTOR SO DON'T WANT TO MAKE ANY MISTAKES
Guess what -- you WILL make mistakes. It is impossible to avoid. In fact, perfectionists can get hurt really badly when investing because it's harder for them to admit they made a mistake in the past, and move on.

Switching funds isn't the end of the world.

Thanx for the response and sorry about the caps. I'm talking about a taxable bond fund. I guess I feel that bonds would balance my portfolio. I want something I can leave my money in for the long run and not have to check it out each day as I do with my equities.

How ever, I keep reading that if you're not already in the bond market you've missed the boat because it's time to get out. But is this true for people who want to be in for the long term?