Skip to main content
No. of Recommendations: 1
Hello all, I'm brand new to fixed income investments after finding myself tiring of pi$$ing my money away in the equities market. I'm interested (I think) in purchasing some I bonds after listening to Brinker on Money Talk the other day. I went to Treasury Direct and see that they are offering a 6.73% rate of return as of 11/1/05. That sounds nice, but all of the posts here are talking of "down from 1.2% to 1%". What happened to 6.73%?

What is the 1% and how is that transformed into 6.73%? Where does the additional 5.73% come from?

Also, Brinker said that I bonds should be held in a personal (non tax exempt) account because there is no advantage to holding them in a tax sheltered account - I can sort of understand that. But, when referring to TIPS he was clear in stating that they should be held in a tax sheltered account. My question - why?

I don't even know if I'm asking the right questions.
Any clarification regarding these issues would be greatly appreciated.
Trying to stop the bleeding.
Thanks,
Joe Bass
Print the post Back To Top
No. of Recommendations: 2
Hello all, I'm brand new to fixed income investments after finding myself tiring of pi$$ing my money away in the equities market. I'm interested (I think) in purchasing some I bonds after listening to Brinker on Money Talk the other day. I went to Treasury Direct and see that they are offering a 6.73% rate of return as of 11/1/05. That sounds nice, but all of the posts here are talking of "down from 1.2% to 1%". What happened to 6.73%?

I bonds have a "fixed" rate and an "inflation: rate that are added together (doubtlessly using some sort of complex formula, this is government after all) to get the nominal rate that is paid on those bonds. The fixed rate remains the same over the life of the bond while the inflation portion changes. Today that rate is 1 + 5.73 or 6.73%.