Message Font: Serif | Sans-Serif
 
No. of Recommendations: 0
But the fact is: he signed an incorrect scorecard in what is very likely a knowing violation of the rules. And even if he didn't know, he is responsible for that knowledge. DQ. Period.

While I agree he should be DQ'd, because anyone else not named Tiger Woods would have been DQ'd, the fact that he stated his transgression in an interview suggests he did not know he violated the rule. Either he did not know the rule, he's incredibly stupid for his admission, or he's incredibly smart with the admission - gambling the Rule 33 infraction would be applied instead. I doubt he thought about Rule 33 when he took the drop, so I'd bet on he did not know. He got off the hook because the commission made a determination of no infraction hastily. Maybe next time, they'll take a little longer with that determination.
Print the post  

Announcements

Live Video Event Monday!
The GP team is hosting a live video event on Monday at 4 p.m. ET. Don't worry if you can't make it — we'll have a replay and a transcript. Click for more!
When Life Gives You Lemons
We all have had hardships and made poor decisions. The important thing is how we respond and grow. Read the story of a Fool who started from nothing, and looks to gain everything.
Contact Us
Contact Customer Service and other Fool departments here.
Work for Fools?
Winner of the Washingtonian great places to work, and Glassdoor #1 Company to Work For 2015! Have access to all of TMF's online and email products for FREE, and be paid for your contributions to TMF! Click the link and start your Fool career.