No. of Recommendations: 0
Hi,
We just bought a house last night for 320K. We need to decide what kind of loan to get. This house is brand new, in a state university setting (10 min to the campus). Houses get bought and sold often in this area due to large university. In the past, I always paid down 20% and got a Fixed rate loan. This time, we will only be here for 3-4 years. So, I am thinking perhaps we should get a 5-year ARM loan. I have never done this before but considering we will only be there for a few years, it makes sense. The real estate in this area has remained strong through the downturn.

Please do not post chiding me for buying a house. We have lived in rental houses for the last 4 years and sicken tired of not getting what we wanted. So, we are done thinking over that part.

Any advise regarding the appropriate type of loan will be appreciated.
Thanks!
Print the post Back To Top
No. of Recommendations: 1
30 year FRM.

we will only be here for 3-4 years. So, I am thinking perhaps we should get a 5-year ARM loan.
The transaction costs will be much larger than any different in mortgage costs, FRM vs. ARM.

Rates are only going up from here. Which means your ARM will be going up.

Just because you *plan* on selling in 3-4 years doesn't mean you *will* be able to sell it.
Hi Deepa,

In the past, I always paid down 20% and got a Fixed rate loan. This time, we will only be here for 3-4 years. So, I am thinking perhaps we should get a 5-year ARM loan. I have never done this before but considering we will only be there for a few years, it makes sense.
<SNIP>
Any advise regarding the appropriate type of loan will be appreciated.

Are you (and your family) aggressive savers, or typically spender/consumers?

If you're spender/consumers, *definitely* go with the 30 FRM, and if you can find any way to afford the payments on a 20 or 15 year amortization, take that instead. It will lock you into a pattern of forced savings "that is good for you."