Skip to main content
Message Font: Serif | Sans-Serif

No. of Recommendations: 0

I don't blog much - I don't have a lot to say and don't ascribe much investing prowess to myself just because I happen to play this wonderful CAPS game fairly well.  I ran across a post from roofman6 over on the CAPS feedback board, and was struck that he looked at the score of the current top "Fool" (that would be me - yay) and that he was concluding that there must be something seriously wrong in his investing when compared to those scores and percentages - and that was keeping him up at night.  I thought it important to respond with another perspective - and some reassurance that he shouldn't be drawing the conclusions he apparently is.  I hope roofman6 doesn't mind me using his post to launch this blog entry.  Here is what roofman6 wrote:  

I'm new to Motley Fool and I've been looking at the "players" records and some of them are just astonishing... accuracy of around 90% and annualized returns that would double or triple your money in a year. I'm not doubting the figures but what am I not seeing here? Why aren't investors and fund managers duplicating these player's buys and sells, or are they?

I did some calculations and the current top "Fool" looks to be doing over 300% rather consistently. Most of us struggle just to keep up with the market. Am I interpreting his record wrong? It's got me staying awake at night trying to figure out what I'm doing wrong.

Thanks,
roofman6

Hi Roofman6,

One thing to note is that CAPS is a game - a stockpicking game - which is different than an investing game. I have played now for over six years and enjoy it immensely. While I have been buying and selling stocks for nearly 30 years, I have learned alot about the behavior of the market through my participation.