Message Font: Serif | Sans-Serif
No. of Recommendations: 1
Specifically, the rule against castling across check - was just a little unsure about this specific situation.

basic positions:
Black: Q-e4
White: K-e1, P-e2, R-h1

No other pieces matter - assume the board is empty except for the pieces mentioned above. Is this considered castling across check? King isn't in check, wouldn't move into check or cross against a line of the queen. Rook however is threatened by black queen and it would move across the line of the queen.

Is castling in this situation legal?


Print the post  


Live Video Event Monday!
The GP team is hosting a live video event on Monday at 4 p.m. ET. Don't worry if you can't make it — we'll have a replay and a transcript. Click for more!
When Life Gives You Lemons
We all have had hardships and made poor decisions. The important thing is how we respond and grow. Read the story of a Fool who started from nothing, and looks to gain everything.
Contact Us
Contact Customer Service and other Fool departments here.
Work for Fools?
Winner of the Washingtonian great places to work, and Glassdoor #1 Company to Work For 2015! Have access to all of TMF's online and email products for FREE, and be paid for your contributions to TMF! Click the link and start your Fool career.