Skip to main content
No. of Recommendations: 2
Hello All,

I'm new to fool and desire advice on the best way to pay off my CC debt.
I have approx $20k in CC debt. One of the cards has approx $15k on it and the minimum payments have become overwhelming.

Current situation:
- unemployed (no unemployment benefits)
- minuscule savings and checking account
- hopefully will have new job early/mid January
- age 30

I haven't missed a CC payment in 2+ years. (only time its happened was due to no auto-pay).

Possible Solutions:

1) 401k Withdraw- Withdraw from old 401k account(approx $10k in it) and face the penalties? Should have somewhere around $6k after tax and withdrawl fee. Any advice on how to minimize tax/penalty damage if I withdraw in 2016 vs. 2017? I should be in lowest tax bracket for 2016.
(Could use $4-5k of the withdraw to take a chunk of CC debt out and have the rest for bills/living expenses?)
(I also have rollover IRA with approx $1k in it)
(Other retirement type investments I have are rental properties that I will not touch, and will be counting on to snowball for retirement income)
I figure that I could use $4-5k to help lower CC payments/interest, improve credit score over time and apply for new CC's with low interest balance transfer deals or a personal loan with equivalent or favorable interest rate.

2) Debt Relief Program- Spoke with a couple companies and they've approximated monthly payments which are lower than what I'm paying now between 2 CC's. (I'm hesitant to do these because I know my credit score which will take a major hit due to the CC accounts being cancelled and requirement by debt relief company to miss payments in order to renegotiate payments/rates). My credit score is approx (640-690) depending on the rating agency.

3) Miss some CC payments- In order to "get by" for now, I could just miss some payments or pay less than minimum. My credit score will take a hit, but it is the only option I have.