Message Font: Serif | Sans-Serif

No. of Recommendations: 0
I know about EFTPS, but I've never used it before. (I did just enroll, but I won't be able to use it until I receive my PIN in the mail.)

I'm just wondering if there's any reason to prefer a real paper check versus using the EFTPS.

FWIW, I have an immediate need to send the IRS money: I owe them $9.69 because of an error I made in my 2011 tax return.

But I'll also need to send them quarterly estimated tax payments, since my wife and I are both self-employed.

So, does anyone here have strong opinions for or against EFTPS?
Print the post Back To Top
No. of Recommendations: 1
So, does anyone here have strong opinions for or against EFTPS?

I've been using EFTPS for several years and love it. Never had a problem with it. I never had a problem with checks either, but there's the hassle of mailing them.

Phil
Rule Your Retirement Home Fool
What Phil said. I switched to EFTPS a few years back. Love it. I setup estimated payments for the first 3 quarters in January and don't have to worry about it again until December. I leave fourth quarter until December since that's when I may take some extra capital gains or adjust my final IRA withdrawal. I may have to pay a little less or a little more but I usually tweak that last payment so I haven't overpaid, at least not much.

On the plus side vs. checks, once you have the confirmation your online instructions have been received you don't have to worry about the check getting lost in the mail. If you have online access to your bank account you can confirm they took the payment as scheduled too.
No. of Recommendations: 2
I thought about using EFTPS, but found it to be more of a hassle than mailing a check. Sure, I save the postage, but it's simply one more account, password, etc that I need to remember...and it's a government website so I'm sure it won't be a easy process given my experience with other treasury operated websites...