Skip to main content
No. of Recommendations: 0
I am a consultant and have some clients that I do some light work for once a year and a handful of other clients that have me on retainer. I am thinking of sending Christmas cards this year to my less frequent clients and a gift to my "regular" customers. I am thinking of specialty chocolates.

What do you do with your clients as far as Christmas cards and gifts?

Appreciate any feedback.

L
Print the post Back To Top
No. of Recommendations: 1
Just a thank you holiday note. To everyone, frequent or not.

(a lot of my clients know each other, so sending some a gift and some a card would get weird for me ---- did you get a gift from Heather? No! You did???)

No. of Recommendations: 19
keep them healthy :)
we always send fruit or food baskets to the 'regulars'
holiday cards to all else
I certainly don't think there is anything wrong with Christmas cards and gifts.

I have just always thought that sending a client a Christmas card or gift is like sending roses on Valentine's Day. It's expected so you really don't score a lot of points and you're doing the same thing as everyone else around you - but if you don't - it REALLY gets noticed.

Others are sending Christmas cards and gifts also, so yours might get lost in the shuffle or be minimized.

For this reason, I try to send a handwritten note or small gift from time to time throughout the year to keep me in the mind of clients. That way I can send a small card or no card at Christmas and still be considered appreciative of the business.

ShelbyBoy
And then there is always the Christmas vs. Holidays decision.

As someone said, the U.S. is becoming "The land of the offended" rather than "The land of the free"

If you send out cards with a nativity scene on the front and mentions of Christ inside, some will consider that offensive to people of faiths other than Christianity.