Message Font: Serif | Sans-Serif

No. of Recommendations: 21
Hello all. I'm relatively new at doing valuations so your comments and criticisms are appreciated. Also, I still can't figure out table formatting so I'm going to straight-line my results.

Basically, I hadn't followed CNXS much. I was initially interested but it seemed (I guessed, I didn't really know why) out of my price range. After the recent smack-down I sat down to do the valuation. I bought in a bit at 11.06 to get some skin in the game and will use my valuation, and hopefully your commentary and suggestions, to decide what next steps to take.

METHODS:

1. A discounted cash flow analysis (DCF) using high and low estimates.
2. A 3-year target price based on low-high sales estimates and low-high P/E projections
3. Desired prices based on margin-of-safety discount to averaged value

DISCOUNTED CASH FLOW

Inputs for low estimate:

Cash $42M (includes short-term investments)
TTM FCF $5.3M
Growth Rates Years 1-5 = 10%
Years 6-10 = 6%
Terminal = 3%
Dilution Rate 1%
Discount 11% (Note: I prefer to keep this at the stock-return constant and manipulate growth estimates instead)

Results Intrinsic Value = $9.54 share ($6.46 in present value and $3.08 cash)

Inputs for high estimate:

Cash $42M (includes short-term investments)
TTM FCF $10.8M (this is the SFCF run rate based on last four quarters)
Growth Rates Years 1-5 = 15%
Years 6-10 = 8%
Terminal = 3%
Dilution Rate 0%
Discount 11% (Note: I prefer to keep this at the stock-return constant and manipulate growth estimates instead)

Results Intrinsic Value = $22.38 share ($19.30 in present value and $3.08 cash)

The average of the high and low is $15.96. Applying a further 33% margin of safety, my Buy Zone price is $10.69

THREE-YEAR ESTIMATED VALUE

1. Use the FY2003 sales of $79.1M as the Low Estimate and TTM sales of $85.8M as the High Estimate
2. Use 8% CAGR for Low Estimate and 15% CAGR for High Estimate (three year)